MNRE invites application for “Energy Efficient Solar/ Green Buildings” Award

The Ministry of New and Renewable Energy (MNRE) is implementing a programme on "Energy Efficient Solar/ Green Buildings" which promotes the Energy Efficient Green Buildings in the country with the promotional incentives. This programme has a provision for annual awards to Urban Local Bodies (ULBs), Green Buildings having maximum renewable energy installations and to Architects and Design Consultants as follows:

(i) Awards to Urban Local Bodies (ULBs)

The one-time cash award of Rs. 10 lakh along with a shield will be given to best 3 ULBs per year selected through competition for adopting and promoting the energy efficient solar/green buildings to be rated under the rating system in vogue i.e., GRIHA, LEED India etc. or for following ECBC building Code subject to the following :

  • They have issued a notification for promotion of green buildings with some incentives i.e., rebate on property tax, discount in premium amount of building permission charges etc.
  • They have amended the bye-laws for making the solar water heaters, and SPV rooftops plants to the extent possible, necessary for the new building projects.
  • Any other substantial rules/regulations which encourage the adoption of Green buildings in the city.

(ii) Awards to the Green Building having maximum renewable energy installations:

  • The cash award of Rs. 15 lakh, 10 lakh and 5 lakh along with a shield will be given to best 3 buildings per year that have the maximum installation of renewable energy systems and the net Zero energy based buildings in the country.

(iii) Incentive to Architects/ Design Consultants:

  • Cash awards to best 3 architects /design consultants of Rs. 5 lakh, 3 lakh and 2 lakh along- with certificates of appreciation will be given per year subject to that the building has acquired the highest ratings available in the any Green Building Rating System in vogue OR
  • ECBC compliant for the building designed by them. The awards will be given to those Architect/Design Consultant whose buildings have been completed.

Eligibility period: The work completed during last 3 years i.e. from 01.01.2011 till 31.03.2014 will be considered for the award.

All the application should be submitted to the Ministry latest by 30th September 2014.

The applicants who have already applied need not apply again. Their applications already received in this Ministry will be considered.


For further information please refer to the attachment:


  Download the attached file
Business | News published on 11/08/2014 by Rashmi Nargundkar

Next events


Last interview
 Energetica India is a publication from Editorial Omnimedia. No reproduction in whole or part of content posted on this website.